Vehicle Safety Ratings Explained

April 21st, 2021 by

Here at West Herr Jeep, it's our mission to help shoppers in Orchard Park, NY make an informed vehicle purchase. The National Highway of Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), which is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, carries out safety tests to see how well each vehicle protects its occupants. New vehicles are tested under the 5-Star Safety System. The highest rating a vehicle can get under this program is 5 stars.

During an evaluation, new vehicles are put through the Frontal Crash Test, Side Barrier Crash Test, Rollover Resistance Test, and Side Pole Crash Test. In addition, newer driver-assist technologies are subjected to performance testing to ensure they meet all requirements.

Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, and Automatic Emergency Braking are driver-assist features that are part of the NHTSA's 5-Star Safety Rating Program. In addition, there are other features are tested by the NHTSA. These include seat belts, advanced frontal airbags, side airbags, and tire pressure monitoring systems.

Click Here Browse Our New Jeep Inventory
Source: blog

Posted in New Inventory, Social